Maxwell House and Mark 13

I almost split my church the other day, but not for the reason I might have suspected. We’re still studying the book of Mark in our Wednesday night Bible study, and we finally arrived at Mark chapter 13. I, of course, have been hesitant to discuss eschatology since coming to this church.

endtimescoming1186-019coffee-posters2

You see, I don’t subscribe to the popular view of the endtimes propogated through the Left Behind series. I realize however, that many people do, and to try to change their view can an exercise in futility. Needless to say, I try not to bring it up. However, when you’re committed to preach and teach through complete books of the Bible like I am, it is inevitable that you will come across a “controversial” topic, and you cannot just skip over it.

So in Mark 13, we have the Olivet discourse, and Jesus is answering (or not answering) His disciples’ questions about last things. I was careful to be diplomatic rather than dogmatic, stressing that this is an issue we can debate in house, with no need for division. Hank Haannegraff would be proud!

But when it was all over, they began to ask me specific questions about what I believed!

Do you believe in a future antichrist? What about the millenium? Are they gonna rebuild the temple? I humbly and honestly answered their questions. To my relief, nobody walked out! They agreed to disagree! Wow.

But, what really offended some folks happened earlier at the coffeemaker. We have a twelve cup pot. Our coffee scoop is two tablespoons. The industry standard for brewing coffee is 1 tablespoon of coffee per cup of water. Someone with little experience volunteered to make coffee for us. I instructed her to put six scoops in the filter (12 tbsp. for 12 cups).

Oh my! I might as well have denied the Virgin Birth! You should have seen all the dropped jaws. One person even walked out of the room! Several refused to drink the coffee after it had brewed.

But those who did, said it was the best they had ever tasted.

Ah, Lord, give them the same zeal for the Scriptures.

Strong love, strange peace.

5 thoughts on “Maxwell House and Mark 13

  1. WORD.. A new Mark Blog. Been a while Mister!!!

    Lots of references that I don’t get… Olivet discourse, Hank Haannegraff, and what is this coffee you speak of? Some elixir that Christians partake in obviously… devoutly it seems.

    I don’t get it though… so did you make it too strong? or make it too weak?

    If I remember you like it dark.

    I like mine dark like I like my chocolate and humor.

    Ohai… I still use your … well your is subjective… your white drawing board… you did well to bestow it to me. It’s even at this moment, sittin over the heat vent to direct towards the middle of the room…

    And often I draw with it.

    Im going to own that thing til I die! No Joke.

    Cheers!
    Hope you are well.

  2. Hey Jimi.
    I made it too strong for them. They have been accustomed to using just two or three scoops.
    Glad you are using the drawing board. We still have the guitar. I keep it away from heat vents though.

  3. I totally forgot about that guitar… That’s cool.

    So I was working and listening to mp3s, and Journey – Midnight Train came on, but I thought about you.

    I was wondering, now, being in a position of a Pastor, can you let on that you like music from the secular world.. like Styx or whatever you prefer?

    Or when you and your family drive into the parking lot jamming some old classic rock, do you turn it down if ever you are rockin it?

    Congregation member, “I think I saw Pastor Headrick air guitaring the other day…”

  4. It’s funny, there actually is a Styx tape in my car, but since I walk to church, there shouldn’t be a problem.

    And I don’t air guitar.
    Which is worse, air guitarring or air drumming?

Leave a comment