Does buying shoes from a muslim heel his sole?

A liquidation sale came to town today. I’ve never been to a liquidation sale. I’ll probably never go to another one. But we were looking for something to do with our afternoon, and the prices on the commercial were too good to be true ( they were, everything was about twenty bucks higher than advertised).

Well we walked around and around until we made our way to the NAME BRAND SHOES, CRAZY LOW PRICES department. There my son found a pair of shoes he just had to have. They were thirty bucks. Not bad. So I bought them. I took them to the shoe cash register, and handed my debit card to a bald man with an impressive beard (I just shaved mine on Monday, so I was a bit envious).

Him: Did you have a good day at work today?

Me: Yes, thank you.

Him: Are you a banker?

Me: No, I’m a preacher.

Him: Oh, so you didn’t even work today!

Yeah he really said that! Then he began talking about a church down the road from his mosque. A mosque? says I. Are you a muslim? He assured me he was. Now I was at a crossroads. Do I say “that’s nice,” complete my transaction and leave, or do I try to witness to him? I flashed back to that scene in Hairspray where Tracy Turnblatt tells John Travolta, “Do it, Mom, or forever wish you had!”

So I asked him if anyone ever told him about Jesus Christ. So we began to have a very polite discussion about the gospel. Unfortunately, he was working, and customers kept coming and buying shoes from him. But we were both eager to continue the debate, so I gave him my number and email address.

I’ve never tried to share my faith with a muslim. Here are the main concerns he expressed to me.

He may have been a great prophet, but how can Jesus be a god?

What’s the deal with the virgin birth? If you say Jesus is a god with only one human parent, doesn’t that make Adam more of a god than Jesus?

The Koran tells us that God rescued Jesus from the cross, but he is coming back to save us. (That was a new on for me. I heard about their teaching that Jesus dodn’t die, but was unaware that they expected him to come back.)

I’d like to hear about your experience witnessing to muslims.

2 thoughts on “Does buying shoes from a muslim heel his sole?

  1. oh hai. i thought about you the other day. this story will sound like a broken record cause of the how you popped in my mind. i was thinking of doing a tshirt design, “Crossing the River Styx” as in mythology and doods be like having coins on their eyes or in their mouth to pay the boatman to help them cross the river, but in the river, i was going to have like rocking doods from Styx coming out of the water with their guitars and mullets. also a robot… for mr robotico. but then i thought the younger kids would totally not care, cause they wouldnt Get it.

    anyways, ive never come across a Muslim, and well. you know… its not like i would witness anyways. i think its cool you are making friends with muslims. more for the the reason that IMO i think muslims are the new black. and by that risky saying, im saying, whereas only a few decades ago it was ok/accepted/widespread to be racist towards black people, its decreased and its tipped to be socially unacceptable, but to be racist towards muslims and make jokes about them, fear them to be terrorists, etc is quite normal.

    anyways.. blah blah.

    hey, i think im getting a job. in California. let me crash at your place if i have to drive my car through. jokes jokes. depending on where though, it might be nice to drop by. thats only if i get the position.

Leave a comment